New Instructional Designer Instructions

UAF eCampus New Instructional Designer Manual

“Who to ask” guide

Welcome to UAF eCampus Instructional Design Team. Since you are new, we hope that the list below can help you with some of your questions (of which we are sure you have many).

Who is eCampus

Whom to contact for what:

General office matters:

  • Donna Oyen  dmhertzler@alaska.edu (Office Manager) for any info about HR, timesheets and travel; ordering general office supplies like pens or paper.
  • Jennifer Young jlyoung@alaska.edu  purchasing requests and purchasing
  • Brant  bkschalk@alaska.edu  (Information Systems wizard) for your security codes; access to server (Orion) and other accounts; any computer hardware and software problems and  acquisitions; computer set-up; help with conference room hardware/software; phone for your desk, Sales Force (procurement system as well as student tracking system); desktop support for staff, faculty, and students, equipment loans to faculty.

Instructional Design support functions:

  • Tim Stickel  tpstickel@alaska.edu,   Associate Director of Student Success
    • Barb Paskvan bdpaskvan@alaska.edu  if you need to know about  course schedules or student enrollments. Barb also enters new courses in Airtable. Airtable is the all-in-one flexible database used by eCampus.
    • Jessica Armstrong  jjarmstrong4@alaska.edu  student recruiter
    • Marissa Carl  mmcarl2@alaska.edu – marketing and promotion
    • Kim Runnion karunnion@alaska.edu if you need to know the numbers for student enrollments, questions about registration or anything banner-related or anything about how eCampus works.
    • Faith Fleagle  fafleagle@alaska.edu is the the Exam Services manager
    • Brighton Brooks  brighton.brooks@alaska.edu is our academic advisor
    • Sarah Patterson  spatte23@alaska.edu,  Kelly Boswood kgboswood2@alaska.edu, Alexis Carstens aabergey@alaska.edu, and (Kendra Garn– on leave right now) are our front desk folks and handle incoming calls and students, faculty, or others that enter our physical domain. They also handle all of the proctored exams as well as national testing.
    • Misti Hopkins mlhopkins2@alaska.edu in our dual enrollment coordinator and works with the Advantage program. Her office is in Associate Provost Alex Fitt’s office. We don’t see her often but she’s still a part of our unit!

Design Team

Associate Director of Teaching and Learning Madara Mason emason@alaska.edu

  • Kendell Newman-Sadiik klnewman4@alaska.edu – Faculty Development Coordinator –   iTeach training and faculty development planning, storytelling teaching pedagogy, inclusiveness and diversity. Current EPIC lead.
  • Jenn Pedersen jpedersen@alaska.edu – Learning Design Coordinator – Course development process and assignments and Open Labs
  • Christen Bouffard cdbouffard@alaska.edu – anything and everything, including virtual worlds, geography and maps, graphic design, web site architecture and navigation, Adobe. Currently iTeachU lead.
  • Sean Holland  smholland@alaska.edu – video and audio, nerd stuff. edX Lead.
  • Tina Johnson tijohnson@alaska.edu anything about Blackboard, creating course dev shells, preflight checks.
  • Nathan Feemster nfeemster@alaska.edu Blackboard faculty support, creating dev shells, preflights checks, Airtable and supporting logistics of courses from one semester to the other
  • Dan Lasota dlasota@alaska.edu – WordPress programming, programming, games, distance.alaska.edu site, pedagogy and research, master of bizarre facts
  • ID3 Vacant
  • Janene McMahan vjmcmahan@alaska.edu   –   website programming, eCampus website, QM Coordinator for UAF; Currently iTeach Lead
  • Jennifer Moss jlmoss@alaska.edu   – graphic design, Adobe, WordPress programming/admin (community.uaf.edu, open.uaf.edu),   web design, augmented reality. Current CITE lead.
  • Karina Gonzales ksgonzales@alaska.edu  anything that faculty need that is outside the actual development of a  course (like training with UAonline, how to withdraw someone, and other classroom management things while a course is being offered). Karina sends out semester update form and coordinates with new-to-eCampus instructors. She promotes fac dev events and communicates faculty-related information. Karina also coordinates textbook orders between instructors and the bookstore. Current Teaching Tips lead.
  • Joe Jackson jdjackson5@alaska.edu   is our departing Studio Media Production Designer – all things media studio and video
  • Eric Lonn eglonn@alaska.edu  is our New Studio Media Production Designer – all things media studio and video
  • Clara Noomah cfnoomah@alaska.edu, STEM, Accessibility Team Lead
  • Buck Barbieri and Max Treece-Noran and Mika McCrary Media Studio Producers (students)
  • Kernell Snow   Assistant Website Developer and works closely with Marissa and Janene. (student)
  • Shayla Sackinger is our Graphic Designer and works closely with Christen (student)
  • VACANT Accessibility Design Assistant and works closely with Sean and Clara (student)

Full UAF eCampus  Staff Directory

eCampus phone/email list  (printable)